If you have a Basic plan all users will be administrators. If your repository is on a Professional plan, however, you can decide the role of each user.

Details on roles

Here are the three user roles available in a Prismic repository:

  • Writers can create any type of document. They have access to all the existing documents in the repository, which they can edit to create their own modified draft versions. This approach allows you to minimize content writers' frustration with user rights, while maximizing collaboration. Once a writer is happy with a version they've modified, they can request the change to be integrated into an upcoming content release.
  • Publishers can review the change requests that are pending on content releases, and choose to approve or decline them. They can also set the time & date of publication for a given content release, or publish the release right away. They also have all the rights and abilities that writers have.
  • Administrators are the only ones that can access the settings of the repository. Therefore they are the ones that have the ability to manage custom types, collections, users, bookmarks, OAuth authorizations, etc. This is a rather "technical" role, as they deal with the configuration that is used within your project's code.

The repository owner

If you're the owner of the repository, the "Users" panel is also where you go to transfer the ownership of the repository to another user. The owner is the only user who has access to the billing information.

Publication workflow

The publication workflow starts with the writers. Writers create new documents or modify existing ones. They do not have publishing rights, so when they are finished writing a document they can click on 'Publish" and add the document to a new or existing release.

Next, a publisher can review the changes that writers have collected into a release. When the publisher is happy with a release, they can publish the changes or set the date and time for the release to go live.

For certain plans, you can limit user access to a particular release using private releases. You can learn more about private releases here.

Did this answer your question?